Work that body

We need to work our bodies. Our bodies needs movement that challenge us on regular basis. At least it’s what I think we need a lot of. Probably a little more and/or harder than we think we need and is enough.

I’m kind of irregular intermittent in my training. Once I was more or less addicted by training and was at the gym or outdoors almost every day for years. Fortunately I found a good concept of balance in this addiction.

Workout addiction can easily become an slowly damaging lifestyle. And I was probably on the edge from time to time.

The Art of body and mind

Nowadays I have slowed down my training amount radically. Still play rough and intensive when into it, but not that often. At some point training can be contra productive. When we get older for example, our bodies recover slower and need more time to rebuild and strengthen us. This means that less is more.

I’m going 51 this year. But I have no problems doing almost same things as when I was 25. Actually I wasn’t doing any workout when I was 25, so I’m actually better.

Speedskating. Fast and smooth, I Löve that feeling

Except for biking or walking a lot I didn’t began to workout more seriously until I was 30. Back then it was inline speedskating (still happens sometimes). But it wasn’t until about 10 years later I began to train really hard, at 40, when I was practicing Shaolin Kung Fu and Sanshou/Sanda, kind of Chinese version of kickboxing. A very nice experience that lasted for about five years.

This kind of martial art form is indeed very demanding and time wasn’t on my side later on, so I felt forced to quit. After a short time out from training I began trail running instead – hundreds of miles for a couple of years. But finally I got bored of just running. I began to climb in the trees, lifting and throwing things I found and other stuff outdoor instead.

Then I got fed up with always getting wet, cold and dirty. Always loads of training clothes in the laundry and even if I had several pair of shoes they never dried up completely in between (it wasn’t always as in the photo up there).

I found myself a gym and got introduced to kettlebells. Then I got involved in boxingclasses (actually based on the real stuff) and soon the rest to be found at a gym. But I never got impressed by the machines. I found them boring and dysfunctional.

I love body weighted workout and free weights (deadlifting is my favourite when it comes to the heavy stuff), and I love high intensity cardio, I like it rough and hard. And I love mixed martial art based training. When it comes to the fighting mode I’m only doing it on fit for fun basis. Heavy bag works ok, but mitts training is definitely more fun, and light sparring when possible (but that happens rarely nowadays).

I always train barefoot or in my fivefingers. I’m addicted to feel full contact with the ground.

For me having fun have always been the most important ingredient in my workout. And I have never followed any schedules in my whole life (except when I was practicing Shaolin Kung Fu).

If you need to have rules to evolve in your training I say stick with that. If not, you don’t need to follow any rules how to be better. You have the information of how intuitively in your mind. Learn how to use your intuition. Children who plays don’t follow any rules of how to be better. They learn how to be better through having fun and just do it.

You can think whatever you want about that. I stand by my experience that it’s definitely possible to become a whole lot better only by aiming on having challenging fun. But of course you need that rough, hardcore fighting kick ass mindset to conquer and achieve higher levels. Doing the same shit won’t do much, but still better than nothing at all.

Physical training just don’t only makes you stronger and feel better and more healthy in general. It also makes you smarter, to think more clearly and learn better. It definitely helps to make you a better photographer, or whatever you like to do. And it makes you look more handsome, both on the outside and inside. It gives you self esteem.

Workout empowers you with life energy.

Leave a Reply

